Unlimited party, improved damage formula, better healing system, comprehensive highlighting and more.
darlingg
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:05 pm

FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by darlingg » Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:54 pm

Magus, I see by a recent post that you use FOTweaks installed on top of Restoration Project (RP), Economy and Rebalance (RP) and SFall mods. But there are so many options in all of these, some redundant and some contradictory, as to seem daunting. May we know the versions, install checkmarks and eventual .ini settings of the other mods that work well with yours, or especially, that would conflict with it, such as you use yourself? Or, what's a known good detailed install procedure around which one could experiment? What about Fallout 2 Restoration Project, updated (RPU), Party Orders, the 0.6.2.12 EcCo patch?

User avatar
Magus
Site Admin
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by Magus » Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:29 pm

Hey. You're right, the combined number of options is quite long. But to start with, you can go with defaults. I'm pretty sure there are no conflicts between them, at least in default configuration. And fortunately, with latest updates, RPU, Party Orders and FO2tweaks are all pretty much pluggable, so they can be installed in any order.
EcCo, however, is published in older, self-extracting format. I didn't try to install it on RPU, but I think it should work.
So, the order would be: RPU (Party Orders is included) > EcCo > FO2tweaks. After that, you might want to slap latest sfall on top.
 
Please do not PM or email me about my mods and projects. Use forums. Also, see our talk channels.

darlingg
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by darlingg » Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:14 am

Magus, after your RPU and before your FO2tweaks, I see 3 options for EcCo, and I'd like to know which of those you'd choose .

1. To run the "original" pbs_fo2rp_ecco_mod_v0-6-2.exe by phobos2077 from https://www.nma-fallout.com/threads/eco ... od.193578/ (presumably correcting "Fallout2"->"Fallout 2" as destination folder; ignoring the warning "Restoration Project not detected in selected directory!"; and deselecting its own Extended Version of Party Orders addon).

2. As above, but then running the patch 4.1b_fo2_ecco_patch [0.6.2.12].exe from your own post https://www.nma-fallout.com/threads/eco ... st-4330884 .

3. Neither of the above, but instead run the more recent 4.2. F2 RP EcCo Mod Fixed [v0.6.3b].exe from Pyran's post https://www.nma-fallout.com/threads/eco ... st-4339954 .
 

User avatar
Magus
Site Admin
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by Magus » Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:39 am

For compatibility point of view, they are the same.
The only reason to choose one over another would be if you like the changes introduced in later patches. I myself would probably go with original.
Please do not PM or email me about my mods and projects. Use forums. Also, see our talk channels.

darlingg
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by darlingg » Sun Dec 15, 2019 1:34 pm

Magus, alright. Following your instructions above...

My rig runs Windows 10 Pro version 1909.

I did a fresh full install of Fallout 2 v1.02 from Gog Galaxy to C:\Games with "Create desktop shortcut" checked.

On top of that, I extracted your Fallout 2 Restoration Project Updated (RPU; reportedly including Fallout Patch, Party Orders and sfall) v9 from https://github.com/BGforgeNet/Fallout2_ ... on_Project) with file replacement.

I then ran pbs_fo2rp_ecco_mod_v0-6-2.exe by phobos2077 from https://www.nma-fallout.com/threads/eco ... od.193578/ with:
 - correcting destination folder "Fallout2" to "Fallout 2";
 - ignoring the warning "Restoration Project not detected in selected directory!";
 - deselecting its own Extended Version of Party Orders addon (so it wouldn't overwrite RPU's).

On top of that, I extracted your FO2tweaks (including sfall 4.1.2) v11.1 from https://github.com/BGforgeNet/FO2tweaks with file replacement.

Then I renamed ddraw.ini to ddrawRP.ini so it wouldn't get overwritten by the next step (else get error message at startup "You have overwritten the RP ddraw.ini file. Revert immediately before it is too late!").

On top of that, I extracted sfall v4.2.1.1 from https://sourceforge.net/projects/sfall/ with file replacement.

Then I threw out the new ddraw.ini and renamed ddrawRP.ini back to ddraw.ini .

Started up a new game & character with no errors, with splash screen showing:
- Fallout 2 1.02d
- RP 2.3.3U9
- SFALL 4.2.1.1

After copying Fallout 2\data\SAVE from a previous game (modded with RP and EcCo only), I was able to load its saves and run some test combats with no apparent problem.

In ddraw.ini, it seems necessary to disable Haenlomal's Yet Another Ammo Mod if your own ammo tweaks are supposed to start from vanilla; the rest all seem optional:
DamageFormula=0

Does that all seem right to you?

I'll now start tweaking other .ini settings to my liking and see how things go.

User avatar
Magus
Site Admin
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by Magus » Sun Dec 15, 2019 3:25 pm

Did you run RPU installation script, though? It's required.

My damage tweak doesn't care for DamageFormula setting, it'll work the same anyway. (But it only affects firearms.)
Please do not PM or email me about my mods and projects. Use forums. Also, see our talk channels.

darlingg
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by darlingg » Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:05 am

Oops, I missed that step. Sorry, and thanks for your patience.

Starting over, with this and a couple of other changes, the above procedure then became:

I did a fresh full install of Fallout 2 v1.02 from Gog Galaxy to C:\Games with "Create desktop shortcut" checked.

On top of that, I extracted your Fallout 2 Restoration Project Updated (RPU; reportedly including Fallout Patch, Party Orders and sfall) package rpu_v9.zip from https://github.com/BGforgeNet/Fallout2_ ... on_Project) with file replacement.

I then ran Fallout 2\rpu-install.bat and saw a message that 6 files and 1 directory had been moved.

I then ran pbs_fo2rp_ecco_mod_v0-6-2.exe by phobos2077 from https://www.nma-fallout.com/threads/eco ... od.193578/ with:
 - correcting destination folder "Fallout2" to "Fallout 2";
 - ignoring the warning "Restoration Project not detected in selected directory!";
 - unchecked its own Extended Version of Party Orders addon (so it wouldn't overwrite RPU's);
 - checked "Add duplet (burst) fire etc" and "Make Hakunin's dreams etc" (by preference);
 - left rest as default.

On top of that, I extracted your FO2tweaks (including sfall 4.1.2) package fo2tweaks_v11.1.zip from https://github.com/BGforgeNet/FO2tweaks with file replacement.

Then I renamed ddraw.ini to ddrawRP.ini so it wouldn't get overwritten by the next step (else get error message at startup "You have overwritten the RP ddraw.ini file. Revert immediately before it is too late!").

On top of that, I extracted sfall_4.2.1.1.7z from https://sourceforge.net/projects/sfall/ with file replacement.

Then I renamed the new ddraw.ini to ddrawNEWEST.ini (in case I still need it) and renamed ddrawRP.ini back to ddraw.ini .

Started up a new game & character with no errors, with splash screen showing:
- Fallout 2 1.02d
- RP 2.3.3U9
- SFALL 4.2.1.1

After copying Fallout 2\data\SAVE from a previous game (modded with RP and EcCo only), I was able to load its saves and run some test combats with no apparent problem.

Following your advice, in ddraw.ini, now leaving YAAM active:
DamageFormula=5

Now trying out various other settings in mods/rpu.ini, mods/fo2tweaks.ini, ddraw.ini and all other .ini settings (remaining question: are any of these conflicting, superfluous or redundant with each other?).


 

User avatar
Magus
Site Admin
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by Magus » Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:14 am

darlingg wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:05 am
Oops, I missed that step. Sorry, and thanks for your patience.
How'd you make it more visible? I'd like to prevent people from missing it.
Your new procedure looks good.
darlingg wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:05 am
Now trying out various other settings in mods/rpu.ini, mods/fo2tweaks.ini, ddraw.ini and all other .ini settings (remaining question: are any of these conflicting, superfluous or redundant with each other?).
Off the top of my head, I don't think so. Anyway, settings are pretty safe to play with, as you can always revert the values.
Please do not PM or email me about my mods and projects. Use forums. Also, see our talk channels.

darlingg
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by darlingg » Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:11 pm

Magus wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:14 am
How'd you make it more visible? I'd like to prevent people from missing it.

All my fault, I just hadn't read the instructions carefully. Also, with my limited experience in such things, I hadn't expected both having to extract files _and_ run an installer. I know now to look for that next time.
Magus wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 11:14 am
Your new procedure looks good.

Thanks. One thing is, though, I can't seem to find a feature I saw before with EcCo patch + Crafty's sfall, which allows the highest skill of the whole party to be applied to certain skill checks. I was looking forward to Myron's high Science skill helping to get the best brain for Skynet at SAD. I wonder if I missed that setting of any of these current mods, or if it's a hidden feature, or if I need to back up and install Crafty's sfall after EcCo + patch and before FO2Tweaks? Or maybe I can use the Control companions feature to get Myron instead of the PC to interact with the computer?

 

User avatar
Magus
Site Admin
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: FO2 + RP + EcCo + FO2Tweaks

Post by Magus » Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:53 am

I can't say anything about Crafty's sfall, I don't use it.
Control companions only works in combat, i think.
In general, it would make sense to check user's science skill instead of player's, yes. But looking at the script, unfortunately that's not the case.
Please do not PM or email me about my mods and projects. Use forums. Also, see our talk channels.

Post Reply